Respect for your privacy constantly ticks in our clocks. Just like you, we value privacy, so we want to be completely transparent about the data we receive and/or retain and how we use it, to allow you to manage your privacy. We tried to find the right balance between privacy and functionality, but if you are not comfortable with any part of the policy, please simply stop using Galarm and send us an email about your concerns at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This following policy applies to all Galarm features, which we will collectively refer to as our “application.”
What information do we store and how do we use it?
Account / Profile Information
When you install the application, we receive and retain your profile information. Profile information includes your name, registered phone number, if provided, and your avatar picture, if you choose to upload one. In addition, if and when you register using your phone number, we retain your phone number as well.
When you register using your phone number, the application shares with that information with a third party only for verification purposes. We use reputable providers such as Nexmo (a Vonage® company), CheckMobi, or 2FACTOR to verify that you are rightful owner of the phone number you are registering with, so that we can continue to honor your privacy and security.
Once you start using the application, we store the alarms you create so that we can notify you and your participants when the alarms go off. We also store each group you create and the group profile picture, if you choose to upload one. If you choose to register using your phone number, your profile information is shared with other Galarm users who have you in their address book and/or contact list. Groups you create are also shared with all the group members. Please note that Galarm does not sell your profile information.
When you create an alarm that includes someone as a participant, we will relay the alarm and related notifications to them. We never share your alarms with anyone other than who you have authorized as part of your alarm.
When you receive an alarm to participate in from a number not in your Galarm contacts (i.e., registered phone's address book), you have the option to block them or save their contact information in your address book. Galarm will provide you the name registered with that phone number as an option to save. You can block any number, any time to restrict yourself from receiving any alarm requests from that blocked number. You may also unblock that contact at any time.
When you uninstall Galarm, we continue to retain all your alarms so that when you install the app again (e.g., on another device), you will be able to see all your active alarms. You can also completely delete your account. This will delete all alarms you ever created, including related chat messages, and remove you from all groups that you are part of. Other Galarm users who have you as participants in alarms they have set with you will receive notifications indicating that you are not longer using Galarm. Once the account is deleted, no one has access to your account, and all your information is completed deleted.
Galarm wants to provide you with the best alarm-clock management user experience. For example, if you choose to register using your phone number, we are able to restore your alarms and settings seamlessly even in the event of transitioning to a new mobile device.
We are constantly making our application simpler, easier, and more convenient to use. However, if you do encounter any issues, our goal is to quickly resolve them. To achieve these goals, we use and sometimes retain certain technical information related to your interactions with the application.
Please see the list below for an explanation of what we do with the technical information:
App Usage - We track certain app usage statistics across all users in order to identify the popular features and to improve our app. No personally identifiable information such as alarm names, notes, and participants are tracked.
Characteristics of Your Mobile Device - We retain information about your mobile device’s make and model to help us dedicate resources for enhancing our support on those platforms.
GPS Location Information - We do not presently receive, use, or retain your GPS location information. Galarm simply uses your phone’s local timezone as an indicator of how to adjust the time of any configured alarms to match the timezone in which the phone currently is.
When you contact Galarm, we may receive, use, and retain information about you to troubleshoot issues with our application or your account. We may also use your contact information to notify you of upcoming changes or improvements in our software.
Mobile Platform Permissions
The Android and iOS mobile platforms identify certain types of data (e.g., call logs, contacts, SMS messages) that mobile applications cannot access without your permission. These platforms will alert you the first time the Galarm application wants permission to access certain types of data, and you may choose to consent to that request.